starting strength gym

Thread: Significant Spinal Erector Asymmetry from Scoliosis / Weight Training...Help???

Default Significant Spinal Erector Asymmetry from Scoliosis / Weight Training...Help???

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi Rip,

I have been doing barbell training for about 6 months now and have noticed significant growth in one side of my spinal erectors over the other. My left is MUCH larger than my right. I do have s shaped scoliosis and it is a very minor degree - less than 20 and it is the obvious reason behind what is occurring.
    Nearly every exercise I do with heavy ass weight (relative) hurts the weak side of my lower back. One side of my lower back very thick and strong and the other is borderline atrophied in comparison. It is easily visible in person.

In order to stop the pain I would assume I need to correct this muscular imbalance between my right and left erector. Do you have any experience / suggestions for any exercises or methods that could help me pursue my goals of lifting heavy weight pain free? (Side Planks / Suitcase Deadlifts?)

I searched this forum for quite a while and I didn't find anything quite like what I am looking for.

Stats:

Male
    Weight: 178 lbs
    Height: 5' 11"
    Bench max: 185 3X5
    Squat Max: 235 3X5
    DL max (Limited by pain, not strength): 260 X5

Did you find the part that says that someone in your situation needs to gain weight, and that gaining weight makes things stop hurting? You can't fix your scoliosis, and I'd be interested in knowing how you plan to work your right erector by itself.

Quote Originally Posted by Mark Rippetoe View Post
    Did you find the part that says that someone in your situation needs to gain weight, and that gaining weight makes things stop hurting? You can't fix your scoliosis, and I'd be interested in knowing how you plan to work your right erector by itself.