starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Post Labral Surgical Repair Training Future

Default Post Labral Surgical Repair Training Future

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Coach Rip,
    I think I have read somewhere on this forum that you don't have much experience with Labral Tears, but I bet you know some lifters that have had them. That being said, I would like you and others to chime in on my question/statement/predicament.

- Age: 45yo, Male, Current Training: Pure Shoulder Rehab- strengthening 3x weekly & daily stretching , Conditioning: Sprinting 3x weekly, Walking with weighted vest 3x weekly.

-No pain, very little tightness at end range of motion.

My training history is simple: overtrained bodybuilder with piss poor form until 4 years ago. I then came across your books & site (which are extremely helpful). I am also a recently licensed Physical Therapist Assistant (which is also part of the problem). I had an arthroscopic Labral Repair to the left shoulder (Bankhart Lesion & Hill-Sachs Lesion, very small according the MRI), with debridement 4 months ago.
    The rotator cuff muscles & supraspinatus were in great shape and surgery was a success & my recovery is going exceptionally well. My predicament: I am troubled by what my Physical Therapist said,
    "No more heavy training (bench & shoulder pressing), give up doing chins". I don't want to give up training. What I'm asking is there anyone out there or does anyone know someone who has undergone this surgery and return to heavy training without re-injuring themselves? My training is drastically different now: soft tissue work, mobility training, stretching, less frequency. I believe I train a lot smarter than before. I appreciate any and all feedback.

Many thanks,
    Stonecold357