starting strength gym
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Cardiovascular Gains On SS?

Default Cardiovascular Gains On SS?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Mark, do you believe that for a complete novice that increases in cardiovascular endurance can be measured after -let's say- 4 to 6 months on the program? I've been listening to other exercise professionals discuss why it may be more important to have better aerobic fitness levels than anaerobic for sports because of the body's natural inclination to fatigue when all energy is used anaerobically and the aerobic system takes over predominately after roughly 60-75 sec. of one bout of intense work. Do you believe that cardiovascular gains can be made on your program that can transfer to the court, field, or boxing ring?

Quote Originally Posted by rm_sidell View Post
    Mark, do you believe that for a complete novice that increases in cardiovascular endurance can be measured after -let's say- 4 to 6 months on the program?
    Studies have consistently shown that VO2 max increases slightly on a badly-designed resistance training program.

I've been listening to other exercise professionals discuss why it may be more important to have better aerobic fitness levels than anaerobic for sports because of the body's natural inclination to fatigue when all energy is used anaerobically and the aerobic system takes over predominately after roughly 60-75 sec. of one bout of intense work.
    The purpose of strength training is to facilitate an increase in force production. Any athlete who relies on his strength program for aerobic conditioning is doing a badly-designed strength program.

Do you believe that cardiovascular gains can be made on your program that can transfer to the court, field, or boxing ring?