starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Firefighter shift work.

Default Firefighter shift work.

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hello everyone,
    I have a question for Mark or anyone who can help. I'm a firefighter and I work a 24on/48off shift cycle. With over time it's 48on/24off. I read the forum post about shift work, but the shift's listed were not like mine. And ideas on how I can accomplish S.S. training as a novice with my work schedule? Thank you in advance for your time and knowledge on this subject.

Looks like you'll be training every third day, instead of MWF.

Look-up Travis Rask. He has a log in the intermediate section. He is also a firefighter. Travis's Log

That is one of my options. Most weeks I will only train 2 times a week. Is that enough to see results?

Thank you Salvilla. I will look him up now.

This may be completely ignorant of me, but do you not have down time during those 48 hours? Could you talk your co workers into a rack in the house? Perhaps one that bolts to the wall like rogue makes? I delivered appliances when I was younger and every firehouse I delivered to had a decent sized area to workout, albeit I saw mostly dumbells. I am in the Midwest, perhaps there are different regulations depending on where you are?

Quote Originally Posted by ffemtjoey View Post
    That is one of my options. Most weeks I will only train 2 times a week. Is that enough to see results?
    It is sub-optimal.

Quote Originally Posted by PoundTheRock View Post
    Could you talk your co workers into a rack in the house? Perhaps one that bolts to the wall like rogue makes?
    I'm not a firefighter, but the first thing I would worry about would be having to respond to a fire immediately after finishing a heavy squat workout. I would probably train after my shift ended.

Quote Originally Posted by Mark Rippetoe View Post