starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Gout and lifting

Lightbulb Gout and lifting

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hi Mark, My name is Nathan and I am quite new to weight training. I have been doing calisthenics for a while and can do one arm push ups and pistol squats, etc but when it comes to weightlifting I'm not very strong. I was eating a lot of meat and veg and drinking milk but not as much as you recommend in SS. Long story short, last week I woke up with excruciating pain in my foot. It's still there to some degree and my doctor has said it's gout due to my high protein diet. I also have psoriasis which means my uric acid levels are higher than the average person to begin with so my doctor said that a high protein diet is bad news for me. However, I have done some Googling and I came across an article '10 myths about gout' and according to that high protein is not a problem but the source of the protein is. It says that meat will cause a big rise in uric acid but plant based protein will not due to it's alkalinity. Is it possible to get as strong eating chickpeas and hemp, etc as it would if I were to eat meat. I would like to keep getting stronger but gout pain is unbearable. It's as bad as when I burnt my face with a light bulb when I was a kid, haha. Also I've heard that a palm full of protein should be eaten at each meal but would this same rule apply for plant based protein as I think they contain less protein than meat? Sorry for the long windedness (if that's a word) but I just love lifting and don't want to be a weak pussy all my life but I also want to be able to walk for the rest of my life. Thanks very much, Nathan

How old are you? H/W?

Just my 2c.