starting strength gym
Page 256 of 300 FirstFirst ... 156206246254255256257258266 ... LastLast
Results 2,551 to 2,560 of 2998

Thread: The Movies

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Quote Originally Posted by Mark E. Hurling View Post
    Judgement was indeed great. But other than Oklahoma, West Side Story may have been the gayest musical ever filmed.
    What’s it like to be wrong about everything?

Quote Originally Posted by Satch12879 View Post

Quote Originally Posted by Mark E. Hurling View Post
    Judgement was indeed great. But other than Oklahoma, West Side Story may have been the gayest musical ever filmed.
    What’s it like to be wrong about everything?
    I smiled when I saw your post, Satch. I was a decent musician as a kid, so I thought WSS was the coolest damned thing I'd ever seen second only to the Apollo missions and my first Amoeba under a microscope. We didn't project "gay" or "hetero" on everything back then.

BUT....trying to understand where Hurling is coming from, I searched the topic and look at what we find today: Inside West Side Story
    Infused throughout West Side Story is a gay sensibility that’s expressed subtextually in the relationship between the hero Tony and Riff, the leader of the Jets, and choreographically through the homoeroticism of the all-male dance sequences. Equally bold is the inclusion of the character named Anybodys, a teenage girl who identifies as a male and longs to be accepted as a full member of the Jets. Anybodys is Broadway’s first transgender youth.
    Did we have to do that to West Side Story? Sigh. I guess Peppermind Patty (Charlie Brown) was transgender also?

So, credit to Hurling for being less of a boomer than I am...more "with it".

Still, gay or hetero, I always thought this captured the essence of first (instant) love for a young man: West Side Story: Maria