starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: High School Weights: For football, Throwers, and General Population students

Default High School Weights: For football, Throwers, and General Population students

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I am a PE teacher/ Weights teacher/ Football coach/ Throwers coach @ a HS in Kansas. I teach the big 4 lifts (SQ,DL,BP,OP) and two Olympic Lifts (Clean, Hang Snatch). I teach the lifts in the manner you teach them in SS, and for 95% of the kids I coach I can get them to perform very good technique. The way you have laid out coaching technique and using simple cues makes it very easy for coaches to teach their own kids, and I thank you for that.

Technique is not an issue or a question. My question is about programming. What is the best way to implement the SS novice progression method to my kids in the setting of summer morning weights, winter after school weights, and strength and conditioning class for school? Does anyone have any experience with this? suggestions? recommendations? ideas? horror stories? How do you marry the SS method with the discipline/ structure needed for a HS weights program?

thanks

It's a bad problem. Some school schedules do not permit the effective implementation of the program. If Coach Janacek can respond, we can learn from him.

My Philosophy on training in a school setting: