starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Will Low Testosterone Impede My Progress on Starting Strength?

Default Will Low Testosterone Impede My Progress on Starting Strength?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Backstory: I have had type 1 diabetes since birth. I just started lifting weights 4 months ago and have just been toying around with weights and doing cardio and made some good progress so far.

I am 5 ft 9 160 lbs I'd say about 15% bodyfat and have recently been tested for low testosterone by my endocrinologist since I suffer from low libido and low energy. My results came back at 116 ng/dl for total testosterone which is below the range of 250-1100 ng/dl. I am 22 years old so this is a concern. My endo wants to schedule an appointment to discuss treatment options in a month. She thinks it is due to my history of diabetes as diabetics are prone to low testosterone levels.

I would like to be put on testosterone replacement and if I do, I would like to know how much impact that will help me with starting strength. I am pretty weak, but I have made some good progress so far in the gym just doing a typical 3 day split routine in the 8-15 rep range.

I can bench 115 for 10 reps, I can squat 135 for 12 reps and I have never deadlifted before. I can do 8 pullups, my back is my strongest bodypart by far and I've noticed the most muscular gains in it too. As I said I am 160 lbs morning weight.

So I really want to do Starting Strength, but want to know if I should start it after I get testosterone treatment or should I start it now with my low testosterone? I would like to make the best results possible on the program.