starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Gauging Soreness

Default Gauging Soreness

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Overall Question:
    My question to you Coach(or coaches), is how do you approach gauging where an athlete is in the recovery, adaptation cycle between sessions and whether or not to continue resting or get the lift in with the 2.5 pound incremental increase, or scale back and decrease the weight in the working set of the movement. I have included data and a bit of background information.

Background/Subjective information:

I am a novice trainee. My training background is 3-4 years in high school where I lifted weights like a bro and did so inconsistently. Since high-school I have gone into the weight room 3-4 times a month and done some low weight bench presses and lots of barbell curls. Over the past year I have been reading ss and pp at a casual pace out of interest in the subject material and I have been practicing the squat, dl, press, and bench press in the weight room but not performing the program.

I am 6'5 295.

Squat:

45x5
    135x5
    185x5
    225x5
    275x5
    285x5x3(work set)

Press:

45x5
    95x5
    115x5x3(work set)

Deadlift

135x5
    185x5
    225x5
    285x5
    305x5x3(work set)

My bench press was done on Tuesday with limited upper body soreness
    45x5
    135x5
    185x5
    205x5
    225x5
    235x5x3 (working set)

I just performed this workout the past saturday 4/7 and I have been sore in my legs that it hurts to take full strides walking and I would have to use the desk to help sit down at work and use my chair arms to get up at home.