starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Another spondylolisthesis thread

Default Another spondylolisthesis thread

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hi Rip,

Have read through a few threads here on spondylolisthesis and your thoughts on continuing to train with it. I was diagnosed with a gr. I/II myself at L5/S1 a few years ago, and had a successful decompression surgery over 1.5 years ago to relieve significant and debilitating sciatica due to the slippage and stenosis. As background, I have been doing CF since 2007 and did several cycles of SS in 2009 as I was pretty weak overall in my lifts and was still relatively new to squatting and deadlifting. It was awesome and I made decent progress. Since my surgery, I rehabbed and gradually built back up to heavy lifting (against my doc's advice, of course) and have been feeling awesome. In fact, I feel so much better when I lift I can't even believe it, though admittedly I don't do a lot of deadlifting as I had the same (mistaken) perception that it increased the shear loading between segments. I do squat and clean a fair bit and occasionally do 1RM's, though not usually.

My question relates to a post you made in '08 about oly and spondy: What's wrong with my squat? What level should I be programming for?