starting strength gym

Thread: Exercise Oncology: Barbell Training vs. Everything Else

Default Exercise Oncology: Barbell Training vs. Everything Else

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hello Rip,
    I am an exercise physiology student at Ohio State University (which i know you think may be a waste of time but i'm trying my best to focus on information that actually makes sense), recently i have become fascinated with exercise oncology and I am hoping to eventually perform research on the effectiveness of barbell training vs other types of training within this population for increased quality of life during and after treatment and longevity of survivorship. What is your opinion regarding why or why not you think barbell strength training would be more effective in this population. Thanks

I am working with a guy right now who was diagnosed 22 months ago with Stage IV kidney cancer, was told at the time to get his affairs in order. I told him that as long as you are maintaining bodyweight (about 270) and getting stronger, you are not dying of cancer. He has had about 4 rounds of chemotherapy, a kidney removed, trained through all of them, still has cancer, and is neither dead, weaker, or lighter. He came in one day and said his feet hurt pretty bad, and I told him that mine did too, "Get your fat ass under the bar." Doesn't feel good, but what the hell? Not dead. And he is not the first person to take this approach, which is in complete defiance of all the usual medical advice. Good luck with your project, it will be useful.

Achieving the best physical shape possible, for which strength training is a great contributor, is definitely the current medical recommendation for cancer diseases. Information flow is slow to every physician, though.

56 year old stage 4 throat cancer survivor here. Doc says it came from an HPV virus I got, most probably decades ago.