starting strength gym

Thread: quick somewhat redundant newbie question

Default quick somewhat redundant newbie question

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I'm coming to the squat workshop next week, so I'll get my definitive answer there, I'm sure. But, based on a meddler's advice at my gym last night, I just have to ask this now.
    I am new to lifting and I'm turning 60 very soon. Using the squat rack last night at my gym, a man stopped me in the middle of my squat and said I was doing it all wrong. I go below parallel and also take a little (just a little) bounce at the bottom. I'm small and new at this and some would say I'm old .... so, I am squatting 60 lbs. (Don't you dare laugh.)
    He said I should stop at parallel and that I'd "break my back" by going all the way down deep on the squat. My SS book and Barbell Prescription book say otherwise.
    His final words to me were: "Take it from me....I'm 49 and I have a bad back."
    My final words to him: "I'm 60, I've given birth to 4 large babies, and I don't have a bad back."
    But, is he right?
    Is there some kind of special technique reserved for grey-haired lifters?
    PS....I've neither knee nor back problems.

You know more about this than he does. Thank him for his advice and continue to squat properly.

Quote Originally Posted by RoLaberee View Post
    I'm coming to the squat workshop next week, so I'll get my definitive answer there, I'm sure. But, based on a meddler's advice at my gym last night, I just have to ask this now.
    I am new to lifting and I'm turning 60 very soon. Using the squat rack last night at my gym, a man stopped me in the middle of my squat and said I was doing it all wrong. I go below parallel and also take a little (just a little) bounce at the bottom. I'm small and new at this and some would say I'm old .... so, I am squatting 60 lbs. (Don't you dare laugh.)