starting strength gym

Thread: Osgood-Schlatter and lifting

Default Osgood-Schlatter and lifting

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I'd like to start by stating that I am new to the starting strength program but I really like everything I've heard on the podcast and am really looking forward to getting into it.

I am asking this question for my brother. He is 6'3", 22 and 185 pounds. When he was around 10 or so he was diagnosed with osgood-schlatter disease and told that he would eventually grow out of it. Now 12 years and multiple high school sports later he still has pain with it anytime he even starts to squat. Even without weight it bothers him and he has therefore never pushed himself to squat and has very little leg strength. The knee in question protrudes noticeably more than his other knee as well.

My advice to him is to work past the pain and build up from no weight to the bar to weight but he is hesitant to try and I am entirely uneducated as to whether this disease is something that should be worked through or if he should look into surgery for it.

Please let me know if you are familiar with this injury and how he might approach his situation.

Thank you

How does he know squats will hurt if he hasn't tried them?

Quote Originally Posted by Mark Rippetoe View Post
    How does he know squats will hurt if he hasn't tried them?