starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Arm Pain and the Squat

Default Arm Pain and the Squat

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I am a physical therapist and train some folks out of my garage gym using the Starting Strength model. My brother is one of them. He suffers from referred pain to the forearm with heavy squats that goes away with rest or repositioning to high bar squats. I have been trying to figure out the source of his pain as I have seen this to be a common issue with other starting strength members. Looking back at my school notes and textbooks the signs and symptoms and differential diagnosis are pointing to T4 syndrome possibly being a source of this pain. Changing elbow angle and maybe switching to high bar for a short period of time seems like good options to calm down the area. It worked for my brother and allows him to press/bench/pull following squats. Maybe we can ask the other therapists in this group and see if they are familiar with T4 syndrome as I don't believe this is a very well researched topic, but may be worth looking into.

Pages 38-40 in the book deal with this. I doubt seriously that you are seeing T4 signs.

Quote Originally Posted by bwad7 View Post
    Maybe we can ask the other therapists in this group and see if they are familiar with T4 syndrome as I don't believe this is a very well researched topic, but may be worth looking into.
    T4 syndrome is a diagnosis of exclusion, see here T4 Syndrome - Physiopedia. Thus, you must first rule out other potential diagnoses before coming to this conclusion. Given how common this complaint is with trainees performing the low bar squat, it is likely a grip and bar placement issue that is discussed in the book as Rip explains.

Quote Originally Posted by JHG View Post