starting strength gym
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Scientifically: How do we know that squats are not bad for the knees?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Quote Originally Posted by dtarrence View Post
    I'm ultimately interested in deriving a biomechanical model for the purpose of comparing all knee, hip, and back angles with the resulting forces on the knee joint. I'm a physicist, so Im talking full blown free body diagrams, Newton's Laws, etc.
    Could you do this on GitHub or wherever you want so that we can follow your progresses? It's an amazing project!

Thanks Dr. Sullivan,

after reading the abstract im definitely going to find a way to read the whole thing. I'm ultimately interested in deriving a biomechanical model for the purpose of comparing all knee, hip, and back angles with the resulting forces on the knee joint. I'm a physicist, so Im talking full blown free body diagrams, Newton's Laws, etc.
    If you're affiliated with a university, you should be able to access it through your library system--or get it on library loan. A few minutes on my library system was all I needed to get full access to it.

And the first figure in the paper is from SS:BBT2!!

Brodie Butland is offline Starting Strength Coach
    Consigliere

Hey Rip, I'm currently in the process of trying to prove that deep, low bar squats are not bad for the knees. In SSBBT3 you go over this in the knees section of the squat chapter, stating that the hamstrings and quads balance each other out in a way that doesn't put shear force on the knee joint. But HOW do we know this to be the case? What are some good scientific studies I can read that show that the ratio of contractile strength between the quads, hams, gastrocnemius, and other small muscles involved balance in this way?