starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Starting Strength 3rd Ed: The Best Middle School Science Textbook Ever (No, Really)

Default Starting Strength 3rd Ed: The Best Middle School Science Textbook Ever (No, Really)

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Coach,
    Wanted to share this with you. (FYI Big fan of the program and what you have created with the books and SSC's. I always learn a lot.)

So my two kids in 7th Grade were studying for a science test on levers and force, and class 1, 2, and 3 levers. I was an engineer in college and although I hated the courses (being immature), I believe a fundamental understanding of Newtonian physics was crucial. When I first read SS 3rd Ed. years ago, seeing the moment diagrams blew me away, it simplified everything about bar path. I suddenly got it, and I will always be grateful that you included moment diagrams in the book.

So as I helped my kids study, I looked at their science textbook. Mediocre at best in how it described a force acting on a body, and its description of fulcrums were disappointing.

Me: "Kids, wait here, I have a good book we can study"
    Kids: "Dad, is it one of your old textbooks?"
    Me: "Sort of".

Anyway, we used your Leverage and Moment section on the Squat chapter as a review. God damn wonderfully written and illustrated stuff on fulcrums, force acting on an object, and moment diagrams. Written so clearly that two 7th graders understood what you wrote.

I am ready to bust out Practical Programming when they learn about homeostasis and Selye's Law. Thanks for the great writing and teaching Coach.

I'm happy to hear this. I've always hated shitty teachers, and I've had lots of them. I've tried to learn how to teach better than I was taught.

Quote Originally Posted by Mark Rippetoe View Post