starting strength gym

Thread: Rip, Where Can I Learn More about Your Trumpet playing/performances?

Default Rip, Where Can I Learn More about Your Trumpet playing/performances?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I'm a retired music teacher and trumpet major in college and real curious... I tried searching but couldn't find info. about your trumpet playing/performance and group (s). I've seen smatterings of comments about your playing, embouchure comments, etc. but couldn't find anything specific. Would you point me in the right thread/post direction? Hope you found the low brass player you were looking for awhile back.

I play a Bach Strad. but once had a beautiful French Selmer that unfortunately got dropped in it's gig bag onto a cement rehearsal room floor and the 2nd valve (leakage) was never the same.

Thad Jones was my big band instructor in college and he often brought his brothers Hank, Elvin and Mel Lewis to rehearsals and they sat in!
    I never learned to improvise (except on bass guitar) as I'd been a Classical player reading fly specks for too long but I could play the charts. Lew Soloff

If your group(s) have a website, etc. Please let me know? These days living on an island, I only get to play the occasional duet with another trumpet guy. Mostly do recording session side man stuff on 6 string bass these days. (Project/barn and cellar workshop studios). No big time.

You're a double inspiration for me, weights/strength and a brass guy!

I have a 1963 Mt. Vernon Bach, which I can sometimes play at the level of an average 8th-grader. So there are no references, sorry. But it must have been very cool to play under Thad Jones.

Quote Originally Posted by Mark Rippetoe View Post