starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Can I run fast through strength training?

Question Can I run fast through strength training?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi mark, I have some question.

I failed to become a teacher because of my bad head. So I am preparing for the police exam these days because there is no place where the school will hire me.

The Physical fitness test items are as follows. Push up, Sit up, Hand gripper, 1000m sprint, 100m sprint. Unfortunately, there is no squat, DL, bench press, etc.... and, I'm not good at running right now.

So I'm thinking about whether I should change my training course. What do you think about this tests? Can I run fast through strength training? If it works, I'm just going to add a bit of running to my existing training.

If not, is there any special training you recommend?

P.s. I am not sure if my question will be delivered well because I am not good at English.

Practice the sprints 2x/week for 4 weeks before the test. Do not try to sprint the 1000m. This will be apparent when you practice it. You will pass easily. Your English is fine.

Quote Originally Posted by Mark Rippetoe View Post
    Practice the sprints 2x/week for 4 weeks before the test. Do not try to sprint the 1000m. This will be apparent when you practice it. You will pass easily. Your English is fine.
    Out of curiosity; if one were to decide to add intervals/sprints to their routine permanently, (for whatever reason they decided to do so), would you recommend that the program be adjusted at all to accomodate the sprints (i.e. some less squatting), or to just add the sprinting on top of the program as is, and eat more to compensate?

Depends on level of training advancement. No better way to kill novice progress than adding conditioning.

Quote Originally Posted by Kim Hanjin View Post