starting strength gym

Thread: An interesting consultation at the doctor's office...

Default An interesting consultation at the doctor's office...

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hi all,

I'm a med student in Europe and am currently on my General Practice rotation (aka local doctor - don't know if you guys use that term in the US). I was shadowing a doctor who initially trained as a physical therapist. I apologise if it doesn't meet the criteria of "Mark Rippetoe Q&A" but I want to share this story with you from this afternoon:

Today, a 42 year old woman came in with right anterior knee pain x 3 months. Her knee was painful when walking up the stairs and when squatting down to pick up items from the floor. There was creptius in her knee during knee extension.

The doctor concluded that she had patellar chondromalacia secondary to patellar-femoral syndrome/the patella not tracking correctly. The doctor prescribed her analgesia, ordered an XRay of her knee and sent her to physical therapy.

The doctor claims that her vastus lateralis is too strong for her vastus medialis. So she needs to avoid working her vastus lateralis and strengthen her vastus medalis, so the muscle imbalance will be corrected. She gave her an exercise where she turns her right foot out to a 30 degree angle, flexes her right knee while keeping her left leg and upper body straight, then extending her right leg. She needs to repeat this 10 times per day.