starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Am I unable to do the power clean due to my arm proportions?

Default Am I unable to do the power clean due to my arm proportions?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I am just beginning the starting strength program. I tried teaching myself the power clean this past week, but I was unable to find the proper rack position no matter what I tried. At first I thought it was due to inflexibility, but in the book it says that people with long forearms might not be able to use the exercise.

I am 6'0", with an arm span of 6'4". I'm not totally sure how to measure arm dimensions properly, but I tried to measure my forearm and upper arm, and I got 12" forearm (measured from wrist bump to end of the elbow) and 13.5" upper arm (measured from the side of the shoulder, I think right around the rotator cuff, to the bottom of the elbow).

I realize it may be difficult to know for sure without examining me in person, but does it sound like I am someone who needs to do the power snatch instead of the power clean?

Video?

Here's a video of me trying to hold a rack position.

I think I got pretty close to a proper rack position this time. I can get my elbows up. The main issue is I feel like I can't get the bar on my deltoids. My hands feel like they are too far back (close to the neck). It is difficult to get the weight off of my hands.

If I widen my grip, I start to feel like I am twisting my arms too much, and it is very uncomfortable.

There is nothing wrong with the rack position. Not One Single Thing.

Okay. Thank you for the confirmation.

I dont even need to look at your images or read your full post. The answer is "NO". Do your cleans.