starting strength gym

Thread: Large Gym Moment

Default Large Gym Moment

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    So, this post doesn't have a question and might be viewed as irrelevant, so the moderator might not let it through, but I thought I'd share a little moment I had in the gym the other day.

For the record, I'm a 62 year-old male novice, and I was in my globo-gym starting my squat warmups. In another rack near me was somebody else doing squats, and behind me doing something or other was a guy I'd seen around the gym before: muscled up, tatooed all over the place, hoody always up over his head, and he's always either talking or yelling to himself - "light weight!", "everybody's a bodybuilder!" etc. - (none of which bothers me, by the way).

So I'm doing my first set of 5 squat warmups with the 45-lb bar. Towards the end I heard the guy yelling, among other things, what sounded like "In the bucket!!!"

I do my second set of 45-lb warmups, and again I hear "In the bucket!!!". I think, well, that could be like "In the hole!" or whatever and he's talking to the other guy doing squats, or maybe it's just something else.

So I'm done with my second set and there he is, and he says right to me "In the bucket! ... I was complimenting you man. That's how you do it!" (Keep in mind, I was just lifting the bar!) So I said something like yeah, I'm trying to get good depth, but it's hard as hell, and he says - and really loud, so the whole gym can hear - "You bet it's hard, that's why nobody in this place does them!" (True, very few people do.)