starting strength gym
Page 9 of 11 FirstFirst ... 7891011 LastLast

Thread: Getting that last rep

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Quote Originally Posted by Jdcuth View Post
    As a novice I don’t understand- how do you program for RPE? Do you say you’ll do say 5x5 @RPE 6 and change the weight depending on how you feel or pick a weight you know will be roughly a RPE 6 and then do all 5 sets at that weight and hope you don’t go above that RPE? Does this not encourage lifters to change how they are lifting the weight to keep to their planned RPE?
    There are several problems with it.

Yeah, ever since I heard about RPE I've never understood how it's supposed to be reliable.

Quote Originally Posted by CommanderFun View Post
    Yeah, ever since I heard about RPE I've never understood how it's supposed to be reliable.
    I guess the expectation would be that the trainee has a finely tuned calibration for exertion. Most of my best lifts of all time have occurred on days when I felt like crap and everything felt exceptionally heavy.

Quote Originally Posted by Will Morris View Post
    I guess the expectation would be that the trainee has a finely tuned calibration for exertion. Most of my best lifts of all time have occurred on days when I felt like crap and everything felt exceptionally heavy.