starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Pelvic muscle tightness

Default Pelvic muscle tightness

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I have been training for a couple of months on the SS program and have gradually been progressing.

At first I didn't notice any problems but eventually I started feeling tension and stiffness in the pelvic area. This turned into a difficulty with erections, pain when passing urine and some lower back pain. After several months of resting this has improved a lot, but the issues immediately come back as soon as I start any form of even slight training.

I saw several doctors, did an MRI, ruled out inguinal hernia or spinal issues. It turns out that my pelvic muscles are overly tight and inflamed due to the extra pressure that lifting and the valsalva maneuver put on the pelvic floor.

I've heard of many people with pelvic floor weakness, but I hear much less about pelvic floor stiffness, especially in men.

Has anyone encountered this?

The fact that this is the first time I have ever heard of this in 42 years of work in this business leads me to believe that you have a bullshit diagnosis. I could be wrong, but I'm not.

Urologist?

Not sure what you mean by “pelvic area” exactly, but this could be pudendal neuralgia. For this to be caused by Valsalva alone would be hard to imagine. You may have some unusual anatomy and a predisposition to this.

You will just have to figure out your limits with a thoughtful coach who can help with good technique and programming.

Interesting...googling the topic brings up a couple of websites saying that resistance training, pushups, pullups, and abdominal muscle exercises can over-stress the pelvic floor if people have tight pelvic muscles - but that's all I could find on the topic.