starting strength gym

Thread: Deadlift progression and imbalances with other lifts.

Default Deadlift progression and imbalances with other lifts.

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Bonjour Monsieur Reeb-dough

I just turned 40 in August and got it in my head that for the first time in my life I would "get strong." I have some experience with training as I was heavily into Martial Arts, (BJJ/MMA) off and on for many years but never did anything beyond some calisthenics, kettle bells etc., once I got into barbell training I became hooked. I have seen more or less steady progress & have resolved to get as strong as I can with the time I have left to do so being "passed my prime" as it were.

My question concerns mainly the dead lift. Without trying particularly hard I am up around 300+ pounds for sets of 5 after only about 8 weeks of barbell training while my other lifts lag far behind in progress. I only squat about 200 lbs for 4-5 RM, bench 160ish 3-5RM, OHP about 110-114 for 2-3 RM (for context I'm about 6' 213).

Will my progress in the dead lift cause imbalances in my other lifts if so what are some practical ways to address them or should I just shut the fuck and keep training?

I just want to say thanks Rip & company, I discovered starting strength quite by accident I am grateful for all the free content ya'll put out and your entertaining & irreverent approach.

All the best,

Jason

You're an 8-week novice, and things will sort themselves out. This SQ/DL spread is of no concern, but it would be a good idea to post a squat video for a technique check.

Thanks for the quick response! I appreciate it.

Thanks for the advice, tomorrow is my squat day as it happens so that's a good idea. I will post tomorrow.

Thanks again!

Quote Originally Posted by Mark Rippetoe View Post