starting strength gym
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Starting Strength Radio #31: Why We Are Right About Everything

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I need charts and diagrams! LOL

For curious parties when I started training for the Marathon I was roughly 260-270lbs and could squat around 455, DL about 495 and bench 365. After training for about 9 months and running the marathon I was about 220 body weight squatted about 405 benched about 315 and DL about 455. I was running about 20 miles a week towards the end and lifting still 3 days a week. Though at the time I ran a bro split (body part split). I ate a ton and rested a ton but it was impossible to make any strength gains at that point.

I ended up running it in a little under 4 hr 30 min. Although in my training I was on pace to run in a little under 4 hr. It was hot as heck that day in June for some reason and the heat slowed me down/ Made me want to die even more.

I still have dreams to run another one and get under that 4 hr mark.

In my group of trainees. There were 4 of us. It was quite literally the smallest guy with the most running experience was the fastest. Followed by the next smallest dude, followed by the next smallest and last was me the heaviest but by far the strongest. None of the other dudes were interested in lifting. My buddy (the fastest) ran the Marathon also he got around 2hr 45 min. He weighed about 175 BW. It was about his 5th marathon and said squatting would not help him run faster.

Quote Originally Posted by Zappey1 View Post
    My buddy (the fastest) ran the Marathon also he got around 2hr 45 min. He weighed about 175 BW. It was about his 5th marathon and said squatting would not help him run faster.
    Hey, he said so! With evidence like this, I stand corrected.