starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pullovers

Default Pullovers

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hello,
    I would like to know any opinions on flat bench pullovers.
    I concentrate primarily on the OHP as my pressing exercise and I occasionally will do a couple of sets of pullovers to work the rib cage.

Thanks.

Jim Leon
    60yo
    6’-3”
    196 lb.

Because the rib cage doesn't get enough work while pressing, benching, squatting, and deadlifting.

Heh. It appears you have to be a certain age to even know such a thing exists to even ask the question.

Dumbbell pullovers can be pretty useful for improving reduced shoulder flexion range of motion after surgery. That’s the extent of what I have found them to be useful for.

Jim,

I am no expert, nor even a SSC, but I have found pullovers to be a very useful exercise. However, you will probably find very little support for using it here for a couple of reasons...

First, it's not a strength lift and you can easily train for strength by simply doing the program and not complicating things.

Also, to obtain the maximum benefits of the pullover you really need a pullover machine, which is becoming hard to find in commercial gyms and not really feasible for most garage gyms.

A good compromise, which fits with the program, is to incorporate the fourth powerlift, the lying tricep extension, as taught by Rip. The first part of the lift is essentially a pullover but ends with an arm extension to fully train the tricep. There is a great video on this website.

FYI, I am a big believer in the pullover and tried all variations (barbell, dumbbell, cable, and even a resistance band technique described by Andy Baker) and I can tell you that none of them come close to an actual pullover machine. If you are determined to incorporate pullovers you should seek out a machine and give it a try.

Quote Originally Posted by Kansan View Post
    Jim,