starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What's the point of chins? They seem to go against the SS philosophy

Default What's the point of chins? They seem to go against the SS philosophy

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hi Mark,

I've been doing SS for 2 years with excellent results. I've gone from 185 lbs to 240 lbs at 5'7.

It seems to me that chins go against the overall SS philosophy of bigger is better - surely the more you weigh and so the more of a grown man you are, the harder they become? I'm now unable to do a single chin up even using all the assistance bands in gym. My deadlift continues to increase steadily (I did 247.5 lbs * 5 last time) so am I even missing anything by not doing them?

best,

Biggah Traps

Hang on -- you've gone from 185 to 240 in 2 years, and you are deadlifting a little over bodyweight for 5 reps? Is this a typo???? Maybe you mean 247.5 kg. But then you'd be able to chin yourself...

You're not doing the program. Here: A Clarification | Mark Rippetoe

I can do more chins at ~250lbs than I was able to do at 190lbs.

Quote Originally Posted by biggah_traps View Post
    Hi Mark,

I've been doing SS for 2 years with excellent results. I've gone from 185 lbs to 240 lbs at 5'7.

It seems to me that chins go against the overall SS philosophy of bigger is better - surely the more you weigh and so the more of a grown man you are, the harder they become? I'm now unable to do a single chin up even using all the assistance bands in gym. My deadlift continues to increase steadily (I did 247.5 lbs * 5 last time) so am I even missing anything by not doing them?

best,

Biggah Traps
    troll detected

Quote Originally Posted by Yngvi View Post
    I can do more chins at ~250lbs than I was able to do at 190lbs.
    Or maybe you have more chins at 250lbs ;-)