starting strength gym
Page 472 of 3004 FirstFirst ... 3724224624704714724734744825225729721472 ... LastLast
Results 4,711 to 4,720 of 30035

Thread: COVID19 Factors We Should Consider/Current Events

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Quote Originally Posted by Frank_B View Post
    Fair enough. But the issue I have is doctors being interviewed on the news saying “YOUNG PEOPLE ARE DYING TOO! WE SEE IT EVERY DAY!” Well, of course they do. Where else would they be dying from COVID-19?

I don’t distrust your qualitative analysis. I’m not a medical professional and don’t pretend to be one. However, from a statistical standpoint, virtually 100% of the patients you (and other doctors) see are doing poorly. Yet, they are actually the very small minority of folks - the 1%, if you will.

The odds of shooting a blown lumbar disc across the room from a poorly executed deadlift are probably actually equivalent or slightly larger than this... Most doctors will tell you not to ever do deadlifts because they’re “dangerous.” We know this is almost certainly based on experiential observation and not in science. It’s just that people with blown discs from deadlifting poorly tend to show up to the doctor. Should we close deadlift platforms too?
    I was responding specifically to the covid/flu comparisons in the post above, and was not trying to defend or justify everything every doctor has ever said, especially doctors on TV.

I was saying it made sense to compare sick hospitalized covid patients to sick hospitalized flu patients, if you are trying to assess severity of covid illness vs flu illness. Nothing broader than that. It turns out usually in science and medicine that the more definitive the statement you want to make, the narrower it has to be