starting strength gym
Page 53 of 3004 FirstFirst ... 3435152535455631031535531053 ... LastLast

Thread: COVID19 Factors We Should Consider/Current Events

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    im over it. the damage done by shutting everything down is far worse than had we let the virus run its natural course. people will disagree with me, and i admit im not an expert in this field, but common sense tells me that societies over reaction to this is a mistake

Quote Originally Posted by spacediver View Post
    It's clear that many posters here do not deem the global reaction to COVID-19 commensurate with the threat it poses.

The following question is meant as a genuine attempt at a meeting of minds.

Is there any viral scenario (a different virus with different properties) that would warrant enforced and strict social distancing measures (assuming the limited resources we have, and I'm including here resources like public awareness, education, testing capabilities)?

Or is [freedom to associate] moral bedrock/sacred?
    I get what you are asking, what kind of sCaReY ViRuS would it take for people to obey the government's edicts, etc. ?

...but now, you have to think about outbreak-scenario when the government has previously pulled the boy-that-cried-wolf-scenario we are in now.

Oopsies.

Quote Originally Posted by Shiva Kaul View Post
    Except, there https://catalyst.nejm.org/doi/full/10.1056/CAT.20.0080]is[/url] such a shortage. It is not because of softening morals concerning the treatment of elderly - age limits for ICU admission are very much in place. It is because of intrinsic characteristics of COVID-19: asymptomatic transmission with a 5-day incubation time, the high percentage of patients who require ventilatory support, the relatively long recovery time, and the lack of an accepted, effective treatment.