starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Son is stalling out on SS

Default Son is stalling out on SS

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    My 14yr old is stalling in squats on starting strength. Started 80x5x3 and has worked up to 120x5x3. These are in pounds. He ways 135lbs. Deadlift, bench and press are moving up nicely. He eats a ton but is not gaining weight. Any help would be nice. Thanks in advance.

Height? Tanner stage? Diet? Rest between sets? Incremental increases? ETC.?

3.5 on the tanner stage, 5lb increases between workouts, 6-7 minute rests between work sets, he is 5’7 and he has 3 decent sized square meals a day

You're pushing a little too fast here.

Quote Originally Posted by Mark Rippetoe View Post
    You're pushing a little too fast here.

This is what I do for a living. Dealing with young kids is a mine field. Lots and lots of kids have come through my program over the years and that age kid is HIGHLY variable.

As a default for me, I have taken to teaching the movement pattern to these age kids, so when they get the bug, it is easy to hit the ground running. I don't ask nor expect kids in this demographic to increase weight linearly (or maybe not at all). If a kid this age really gets excited about lifting we have the kids come in a couple of times per week and self select the load under CLOSE supervision, not allowing stupidity. This takes a watchful eye.

I find that most Hispanic kids are ready to start training somewhere around the end of 8th grade to beginning of 9th grade and 100% ready by sophomore year of high school. Caucasian kids tend to be a semester behind, but by the end of the 10th grade football season, everyone is good to go. Biggest problem with ALL kids is the fact they won't EAT and won't SLEEP.