starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Mutton/Lamb

Default Mutton/Lamb

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Rip,

I’m a small time farmer looking to make it a full time job. I think there may be a market for sheep in my area of North Idaho. I know you are a bit of a mutton connoisseur, so I thought I would pick your brain.

What breed of hair sheep do you prefer or have experience eating?

At what age do you think is best to slaughter? That ties into my next question, do you prefer lamb or mutton?

If I were to give some sample cuts to my customers to gauge their interest, which cuts would you choose?

How do you like to cook your lamb/mutton?

Do you think mutton is a good market for a small farm in the US, or should I utilize my time elsewhere?

Thanks,

Jake

The sheep I buy are Dorper. We kill them at about 14 months, at the heaviest bodyweight they can produce, about 220 pounds. This maximizes the meat production of each animal. VERY IMPORTANT: the sides hang for 3 to 3 1/2 weeks. The dry age is very important. Stew the shanks, but eat the rest of the meat at medium rare. The chops are the best meat I've ever eaten, bar none. If you can create a market for dry-aged mutton, you will be busy, and all you have to do to create the market is serve the product. I buy 5 at a time, so a chest freezer is an important part of the equation.

Quote Originally Posted by Mark Rippetoe View Post
    T The chops are the best meat I've ever eaten, bar none.
    Interesting. Does anyone know where one could buy this quality dry aged mutton/lamb for online delivery?

No idea as of now.

The aged, double-cut mutton chops have been the signature dish at Keens in NYC for more than a century. It is better than the beef they serve most nights. There’s most definitely a market.

Roasted then braised shanks make an excellent tomato sauce.