starting strength gym

Thread: The average Standing Vertical Jump seems to be significantly LOWER than 24 inches

Question The average Standing Vertical Jump seems to be significantly LOWER than 24 inches

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hey Mark,

I love your books and videos. I started training at SS in Denver a month ago and have seen amazing results. I even have my wife and daughter's training with me at home now. Thank you for everything!

I've heard you mention in your books and in several of your videos that 24 inches is "very average" for the SVJ. My SVJ as a young man was around 32" and now that I'm older and heavier it's about 26". So I did a little research and all I can find are stats that say the average is 16"-20" and anything over 28" is elite. I also found that the average SVJ in the NBA is 28". My references are below. Could you tell me where your numbers come from? Also, what's your vertical?

Thanks,
    James

Vertical Jump Test Scores
    Average Vertical Jump for Men and Women - The Exercisers

I am 64, so my SVJ will never be tested because I've already ruptured an Achilles tendon. Yours doesn't matter either since you're old enough to have a daughter. We've been using 14" for women and 22" for men for a long time, and although I don't remember the source reference, it's at least as good as this two magazine articles you've posted. And who gives a shit about the SVJ of a 6'11" man? That's why they are tall.

The average I most commonly see for men is 18"

However, the test can be gamed.