starting strength gym

Thread: Bodyweight

Default Bodyweight

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hi Rip. Im 33, 6'3, and have some questions about weight.

I went to the gym on and off for a couple of years starting 2018, but have been going consistently and doing SS for 6 months now. My lifts are continuing to increase, but my weight gain has barely changed for months now...

You should see how much I eat...Ive been eating myself stupid for 2 years now, constantly force feeding myself...and my body just doesnt seem to get over 225 lbs. Its been stagnant for months.

I weigh myself a few times daily. I generally wake up at about 220-221 lbs, and before i go to sleep im generally about 224-225 lbs. Same thing every day, force feeding myself all day. Ill take a piss once or twice during the night, wake up after a good 8.5 to 9 hour sleep, and then im back to where i started at 220-221. The cycle just keeps repeating itself.

AND...this is only when im eating way more than i want to. As soon as i have a day where i eat like a normal person (eg 3 meals and a couple of snacks in between) my weight starts dropping quickly, back to about 218.

When I started lifting in August 2018, I was 166 lbs, weak, and gaunt. I have bad genes and am naturally weak. So i am proud of myself to have made massive strength gains and to have got to 221 lbs. But I have 3 questions:

1. Are some people just unlikely to ever get big/solid looking? I want to get to 250 lbs...at 6'3 i think this is a good weight to aim for. But my body just seems to have reached a weight limit. I dont look thin anymore, but at 221 lbs at 6'3, i still wouldnt say i look solid.

2. Should I just stop caring about my weight if my lifts are going up? I want to keep getting stronger, and you often say gaining weight helps this process. So i want to gain weight for this reason (as well as to look better).