starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Nutrition questions and background

Default Nutrition questions and background

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hey there,

I am new to the forum and am looking for some nutrition advice. I am a 27 year old 6 foot tall male and I currently weigh 135. You can probably guess by this description alone that I am severely underweight AND, you guessed it, quite weak for my size. To put it in context my 5 rep max on my back squat is 135. I can deadlift 245 for 5 reps and I can bench 145 for 5 reps and I have been training consistently for 7 years though I admit some of that time was spent doing dumb Crossfit exercise but I always had a strength component. I currently eat about 3200 calories per day (I have been tracking diligently for years), and when I increase my calories I notice that I just move more to compensate for the additional energy. I eat about 400 grams of carbs per day, 300 grams of protein, and maybe 30 (ish) calories of fat. I'm not sure where to go with my calories. I want to get stronger, despite having hardgainer genetics, and I am open to any and all suggestions.

~Grant

Troll. Has to be. Not even a good one. This has what trolling has deteriorated into.

I promise you I am not trolling you. Your information has changed my entire view on strength training and training in general. I was just hoping to get some feedback from people who know more than I do. I'm sorry to have waste your time and apologize for any potential offense I have caused. I'll keep reading your material and listening to your podcast. Again, I'm sorry for any misunderstanding.

Thank you
    ~Grant

GOMAD?

If you were in Phoenix, you might consider consulting Coach Santana, who is also a registered dietician (and very active on this forum on such matters):

SSCA : Coaching