starting strength gym

Thread: Rip: When to Stop Trying to Train

This is a sad day. I'd like to pay my respects. Is Stef handling the arrangements or is Delgadillo? Or will you just let the dogs eat you and scatter the bones?

Thanks Rip for the article. I'm not there yet but I've wondered for a while how I should be setting my expectations as I get older. It's helpful to not just know what to expect, but also the right attitude to have about it. I turned 40 last month and I've been thinking a lot about my folks and their own experience with aging. It scares me, but at the same time I know there is something I can do about it. To be honest, before I started lifting and reading about other, older lifters, I had no idea how strong you could be as you age. It's really pretty amazing!

I think what may be relevant is that while you can stop training certain lifts because of repeated injury it doesn’t necessarily mean you can’t make progress on others.

Quote Originally Posted by Steven Z View Post
    I turned 40 last month and I've been thinking a lot about my folks and their own experience with aging. It scares me, but at the same time I know there is something I can do about it. To be honest, before I started lifting and reading about other, older lifters, I had no idea how strong you could be as you age. It's really pretty amazing!
    I was my strongest in my early-mid 40's. You have lots of time.