starting strength gym

Thread: Should I push bodyweight up harder after completely stalling?

Post Should I push bodyweight up harder after completely stalling?

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I have been doing weight training for around 2 years now but never actually did a proper beginner LP. After reading both books, I started doing SS in July of 2020, at 70kg bodyweight and 181cm height with a 100kg x 5 squat, 135kg x 5 deadlift, 90kg x 5 bench and 50kg x 5 OHP. Despite having to bike to the gym, which took all the energy out of me because it was about an hour uphill (the 40ºC+ weather in my country also did not help), in around 3 months i got to 170kg x 5 squat and 195kg x 5 deadlift. My bench and my ohp did not go up as much (110kg x 5 and 65kg x 5 respectively) but this was entirely due to form issues. At this point in late September I was around 83kg bodyweight. The Starting Strength program is incredible and I had never expected to gain strength so quickly.

By this point, my program was:

Monday: Squat (heavy): 1 set 5 reps, Bench/ohp (alternating): 3 sets 5 reps, Chinups: 3 sets 15 reps
    Wednesday: Squat (light): 3 sets 5 reps, Bench/ohp (alternating): 3 sets 5 reps, Deadlift: 1 set 5 reps
    Friday: Squat (heavy): 1 set 5 reps, Bench/ohp (alternating): 3 sets 5 reps, Rows: 3 sets 5 reps

I know this is not the correct program, but considering how I was already exhausted from the bike trip before even touching the barbell, I had to drop to 1 heavy squat set.