starting strength gym
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: Barbell Knurling

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    The Rogue stuff has pretty nice knurling, imo. All the bars at my old gym were Rogue bars so I've used them a ton. I don't know man... that's an unusual problem. No offense meant, really, but are you coming from a sedentary lifestyle (student, desk job, etc) and your hands are just not used to it? Because the Rogue bars are not unusually sharp.

My gym has several Rogue Boneyard bars and the knurling is brutal, may be why they went to the Boneyard. I can lift up to 315 without pain, but above that and the knurls feel like they're cutting into my hands. My solution was to go ahead and use straps on anything above 315. And before Dalan ask, I'm a blacksmith by trade and there's nothing soft about my hands.

Quote Originally Posted by Smyth View Post
    I’m sorry stef, I wasn’t clear. I know how one does the grip, I just don’t really understand how one maintains the grip at very heavy weights, while I can see (and have experienced) how the hook grip does so. My guess is, it works at heavy weights as long as your “grip” is strong enough for your fingers to hold the heavy weights. I think mine stop being strong enough at about 225-245, thus, the hook grip. Thanks.
    It’s the same if you hook grip, or mixed grip. It’s just the natural position for the bar to rest. If you try and artificially hold the bar higher, it will work it’s way down under gravity and that’s what tears the skin.

Quote Originally Posted by dalan View Post