starting strength gym

Thread: SS Radio #106: Cryptocurrencies and Arkane Topics with Ben Gillenwater

Default SS Radio #106: Cryptocurrencies and Arkane Topics with Ben Gillenwater

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024

I was also fed up with hearing so much about cryptocurrency it in the media and not understanding it. So, over the past two weeks, I dove deep and learned what I could to be satisfied.

Rip brought up some fundamental questions that I've asked and gotten answers to, some more satisfying than others. You can take these notes as a non-technical summary of my understanding. I'm still learning and not bent on the success or failure of crypto. It is a fascinating system with a lot of merit, though.

1) Gold Vs. Bitcoin:

Gold is hardly used for anything. It's inside our tech and jewelry, but besides that, I've learned that its true "utility" lies mostly in its scarcity and stability. Not as a raw material like oil or iron. There's a limited amount and only a little bit more is mined each year and kept in vaults. That's good for people when it comes to storing their wealth somewhere outside of cash for the long term (decades).

Bitcoin's "utility" is the same. There will only ever be 21MM of them, no matter what. In this way, it's better than gold, since everyone knows the exact and fully "diluted" cost. It will not inflate over time, we won't find more in the ground each year.

The "math puzzle" needed to mine more Bitcoin (using CPU power) isn't useful in the same way that mining for gold isn't useful. It's the actual gold, or the Bitcoin, that matters. The mining is just the hard-ass work you need to get to it. That work matters for the end value to exist in some way, but it's not the purpose. No analogy is perfect, but thinking of Bitcoin as digital gold rather than currency has helped a lot.

2) Currency Vs. Asset.