starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Article: Muscle Imbalances and Injuries

Default Article: Muscle Imbalances and Injuries

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024

I irritated my hand several weeks ago. I kept using it because there wasn’t much choice and now it’s mostly better except my ring finger won’t straighten out under its own power. I’ve been putting that fist against the palm of my other hand and straightening the fingers out using that hand as resistance. It’s helped but progress has been slow. Is there any better exercise you’d recommend?

I feel a little dumb making this my first post but honestly your article was timely for me.

This is called "Trigger Finger" and I have no experience with it.

Quote Originally Posted by Mark Rippetoe View Post
    This is called "Trigger Finger" and I have no experience with it.
    Sounds like trigger finger for sure but could be Dupuytrens Contracture.

I had Dup in my mid 20s and fixed surgically. It’s almost always pinky or ring but it’s also almost always for old men. So much for “typical”...

This video is surprisingly useful and should get the OP on the map.

Trigger finger versus Dupuytren's contracture: WHAT'S THE DIFFERENCE? - YouTube

Quote Originally Posted by KeithI View Post
    I irritated my hand several weeks ago. I kept using it because there wasn’t much choice and now it’s mostly better except my ring finger won’t straighten out under its own power. I’ve been putting that fist against the palm of my other hand and straightening the fingers out using that hand as resistance. It’s helped but progress has been slow. Is there any better exercise you’d recommend?

I feel a little dumb making this my first post but honestly your article was timely for me.