starting strength gym
Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345

Thread: Every Day Carry for My Wife

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Perhaps she’d be more comfortable starting with a rifle at the range. Less nervous about pointing in the wrong direction. Get use to blast/recoil, then move to shorter guns.

Quote Originally Posted by VNV View Post
    Perhaps she’d be more comfortable starting with a rifle at the range. Less nervous about pointing in the wrong direction. Get use to blast/recoil, then move to shorter guns.
    I’ve taken multiple defensive handgun courses. In my beginning course, EVERY student developed basic shooting proficiency. Many of the women and some men had NEVER fired a gun ever. In fact, as predicted by our instructors, many of the complete newbies shot BETTER than the more experienced shooters by the end of the course. This was because they never developed bad habits previously.

If you want to learn to fire a handgun, I believe you should train with one from the start. I don’t really see a benefit of starting with a long gun first unless what you really want is to shoot a long gun.

Quote Originally Posted by JFord View Post
    I’ve taken multiple defensive handgun courses. In my beginning course, EVERY student developed basic shooting proficiency. Many of the women and some men had NEVER fired a gun ever. In fact, as predicted by our instructors, many of the complete newbies shot BETTER than the more experienced shooters by the end of the course. This was because they never developed bad habits previously.

If you want to learn to fire a handgun, I believe you should train with one from the start. I don’t really see a benefit of starting with a long gun first unless what you really want is to shoot a long gun.
    Ok, that too is interesting. I’ve never taken any such courses.

Were any of the new students as afraid to fire a gun as our friend here?