starting strength gym
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: High School Football Question

Default High School Football Question

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I'm a HS football strength coach, and I've had our team doing the NLP off and on since November 2019. We were humming along until COVID shut us down in March 2020. Long story short, we have only been able to do the NLP again since April this year. But the results have been dramatic. One of our juniors went from an 85 lb squat to 450 lbs (since 2019). We have the typical problems with them getting enough to eat and missing workouts, but we are significantly stronger. And it shows in our record. 3-7 in 2019, 0-4 in our COVID season this spring, and now 5-3 poised to put up our first winning record in a decade with a win tonight. Plus, we'll be in the playoffs for the first time in a decade.

But now our HC wants to start incorporating box jumps and kettle bell squats. Stuff like that. My question is: How can I incorporate box jumps so as not to interfere with recovery? He's still willing to continue the NLP, but he wants to add stuff. I just need some guidance on how to do it without screwing up recovery.

Standard Head Coach bullshit. You're winning, and it has to have his name on every aspect of the improvement. If you ad shit to the NLP, it is no longer the NLP. They can't recover because you can't get them to eat, remember? It's working now, but he has to "fix" it. Put them all on steroids, kill him, or get a better job. Those are your options.

I knew I could count on you, Rip.