starting strength gym
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: Vasovagal Syncope During the Press

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Quote Originally Posted by GioFerrante View Post
    What would the difference between 165 and 195 lbs be that would be different? Are you changing where you are holding your breath on the heavy sets when you valsalva?
    I'm not a doctor or scientist but simply speaking I think the difference is that his muscles are asking for more blood/oxygen at 195 and less is getting to his head.

Quote Originally Posted by Frank_B View Post
    I attached a picture of me taking my grip while the bar is racked and also of me in the bottom position with the bar unracked. This is a pretty standard grip for me, with the inner part of my palm lining up on the transitions between the smooth bar and knurling. I've tinkered around by going 1/8"-1/4" in from this as well as about 1/8"-1/4" out from this grip with no real changes.

Attachment 7950

Attachment 7951
    1) I dont see a belt. Are you not wearing a belt? Proper use of a belt will help you maintain pressures throughout the system and may help with your problem.

2) I frequently have this same problem and have crashed to the floor, blacking out with the bar overhead, at least 4 times. Twice this past year or so, in fact. High sodium intake is essential to life - do not let the naysaying nancies fear monger you into a low sodium diet unless you have a specific condition (not just "high blood pressure") and a doctor has specifically told you to limit sodium. I have found that being well fed, well sodiumed and well hydrated (which requires being well sodiumed) greatly mitigates the issues.