starting strength gym

Thread: Balloon Implant for Massive RC Tear

Default Balloon Implant for Massive RC Tear

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Rip, I’m a 52YO male, 5’10 @ 235#. I’ve been training for > 10 years and my pre-injury lifts were SQ: 495, DL: 575, Press:198, Bench: 330.

Two months ago I injured my right shoulder training BJJ. The original injury happened during a light pummeling drill—nothing violent or seemingly traumatic at all. I thought I had popped a few fibers loose from muscle-tendon junction. So a did a Starr rehab for a week and eased back into training. I re-injured the shoulder almost immediately. I repeated this cycle a couple more times until I decided maybe to stop being a dumbass and go visit the ortho.

Ortho gets the MRI report and says I have massive RC tear involving both infraspinatus and supraspinatus tendons with retraction to the AC joint level and atrophy of associated muscle bellies. He thinks he can reattach them, but needs to perform the surgery soon before even more retraction occurs.

If he can’t reattach them, he plans to use a ballon implant in the subacromial space. As I understand it, this is a new technique for massive RC tears with promising results. But it’s a biodegradable implant, and I have no idea what happens when the implant dissolves in 18 months.

Moreover, I finally read the radiology report for myself and it mentions “diffusely irregular appearance to the labrum favored to represent labral tear rather than prominent degeneration and fraying”. My ortho didn’t say anything about about fixing a labral tear—just the RC tendons.

My gut tells me I should get a second opinion. But perhaps I’m being a back seat surgeon. What do you think?

geoff

ps, here is summary from radio report