starting strength gym

Thread: SS Radio #203: Training Kids

For your next ‘ask a Jew’ section, try Mick the SS App developer; leave poor ol’ Ray alone! Good podcast by the way. My 12 year old is into basketball but he has the build of a lifter. When he’s ready and about 16-17 I’ll take him through the NLP.

This was a great episode, clarifying topics mentioned in previous episodes. I've been training my nephew for the last 15 months and it's been incredibly rewarding watching him develop physically, mentally and emotionally.

At 14 years old, 5'6" and 173lbs, he was a little dough ball. He's always loved sports but turmoil at home meant that he ended up what one might call self medicating with food. His Dad is a real piece of shit so once he was out of the picture, lifting weights finally became a possibility (lifting was dangerous, not intellectual etc.)

My nephew was worried about how fat he was, reassured him that it would take care of itself once he started lifting. Got all his lifts to a decent level, and the progress he was able to witness on the big white board was incredibly useful. Once he was able to safely squat 100kg/220lbs I let him do it for a very easy single. The weight started to come off and then he decided he wanted to lose much, much more weight. His body, his choice, I did my best to supervise his diet but he eventually put himself on 800 calories a day. This is where I think it gets very interesting in terms of teenagers and access to instagram influencers and so on. It is very tricky to counter that almost constant barrage of misinformation. This is where the resources of Starting Strength and the knowledge gained from actually going through the process oneself is so useful. I told him about reading Muscle and Fitness and wondering why I wasn't massive and shredded and that Instagram and TikTok have similar snake oil salesman who never mention genetics, training time, steroids etc.