starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: NLP and chemotherapy

Default NLP and chemotherapy

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Mr Rippetoe,

I have recently ordered the Blue Book and am eagerly awaiting its arrival. Upon completion of reading, I plan to begin the NLP.

At time of writing, I am 7 weeks removed having undergone an open partial hepatectomy to remove an adenocarcinoma. In a few weeks time, I am to begin 6 months of preventative oral chemotherapy. I have read that resistance training can be quite beneficial to patients while receiving such treatment. I plan to start my NLP about the same time I begin treatment. If you were me, would you follow the NLP as outlined in the book? Would you recommend I that I adapt the program in anyway? Any advice or feedback would be much appreciated.
    I am 6’1”. Current body weight: 170. Complete beginner, never having trained before. Thank you for your time and consideration.

Regards,
    -Edward Chaires

Age?

I am 40

Sorry man. I wrote this about a year ago. It may be helpful to hear some one else’s story.

Better Than Some, Worse Than Others: A Strength Odyssey | Barry Charles

Resistance training is always a good idea. And, If your story is similar to mine, I’ve had to stop and start again many times since writing this. Following the NLP is perfect even if you start, over, with a broom stick.

I think eating enough is the hardest problem. The drugs all suck. You are likely, but not definitely, going to struggle with eating right and enough. But the lifting is the most fun. BE the guy who can add weight to the bar while on chemo!