starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Getting fat and no muscle gain?

Post Getting fat and no muscle gain?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I have been doing SSLP for 5 months. My initial weight was 162, now i am sitting around 200 pounds. Height is 5'11"/6. Waist:37"-38" Neck:17" Squat:265 (i have kept it still for a few weeks until my deadlifts get to a decent number), DL:315. BP:170. PRESS:110. Macros:417/199/152.

I have finally weighed myself on an old weight scale and realized i'm kind of fat. Maybe i increased the muscle mass on my legs, but the changes in the upper body are minimal, at least in a good way. Most of the fat is stored in the stomach/love handles and legs, so it could be said that the majority of the weight increase is in fat, due to me not eating the required protein for about 3 and a half/4 months. Should i start eating maintenance calories? Cut the fat? Talking about the deadlift matter: should the increases be 10lbs? (of course, weekly) Should i prioritize getting 4x10 before i increase the weight in pullups? In advance, i thank you for your time and answering the stupid questions i constantly make, you deserve a place in heaven.

lol thanks for the kind words man. So first things first. Your fat intake is. too high and your body weight may also be too high for the amount of weight you are currently lifting. A 200 lb guy with a 5RM DL of 315, 170 BP, and 110 P isn't going to very lean. Just think about that from a practical standpoint.

Are you missing lifts yet?

I would scale back your fat and keep deriving up the lifts. Your upper body will look far different when you can Bench Press 200-225 x 5, Press, 135 x 5, Chin 10-15 reps, and deadlift 365-405 x 5. Right now the weight on the bar doesn't justify the bodyweight so your job is to change that by getting stronger.

Are you missing lifts yet?