starting strength gym

Thread: How should I continue

Default How should I continue

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hello everybody,

This is my first post so be gentle

I've been training for 6-7 years, mostly PL & strength oriented training - or how I thought it was supposed to be.
    For the last 4.5 months i switched to Mark's methodology of training, nutrition etc. - First NLP and for the last month and a half I've been on the Texas method, and saw great progress compared to my training years before.

The on thing I've been struggling with is nutrition.
    I was always a hearty guy - reached a fat 225lb at 14 and after making a change and hiring a PT got to around 154 in a year & a half -which is when I started training at a gym.
    My weight has fluctuated during my last training years - as a result of me bulking and cutting each year, while my training numbers slowly got up.
    After starting NLP and realizing I needed to eat more, so I've increased my calories but as a result my BW increased real fast.

I'm at a point in training where progress is slowing (not for the right reasons I suppose) & I feel could make progress by eating more, but my BW will increase too - and I don't want to fatten up.

What should I do - increase my calories and milk those strength gains even more, cut until reaching a specific BW hoping I won't lose strength, or continue with my current eating and hope I still progress?

My stats:
    21 YO 5feet 8inch male
    lifting numbers:
    until starting NLP best all time lifts were SQ 330*1, DL 440*1, BP 230*1, P 140*1
    current lifts are SQ 320*5*5/340*5, DL 462*1, BP 198*5*5/220*4, P 137.5*5*5/143*5
    BW before beginning NLP was around 185, current is 207
    current calories are around 3000 - aiming for 200g of protein, and the rest from fats/carbs (some days are carb rich while others are fat rich)

Many thanks in advance