starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How much should I be eating? 148lb female

Default How much should I be eating? 148lb female

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Looking for some concrete advice on how much I should be eating. I am a novice on week 3 of Starting Strength and loving it! I am a 23-year-old female and weigh 148lbs.
    Current lifts:
    Squat 3x5 215lbs
    Bench 3x5 125lbs
    Press 3x5 97.5lbs
    Deadlift 1x5 290lbs

I've been eating ~2300cals on workout days (160 protein, 250 carbs, 80 fat). On rest days, I usually get about 2100, dropping the carbs and upping the fat.

I don't eat right when I wake up. I go for a walk with my dog in the morning and then go to work. I eat "breakfast" at 11am, about 3 hours before I train at 2pm (usually around 500 calories), and have some fast-digesting carbs 30 minutes before I start (poptart, fruit snacks, Gatorade, etc.) I find that I usually feel good for my squats and bench/press, but almost always feel tired/hungry when I get to my deadlifts. I've tried eating another fast-digesting carb during my workout, but still feel low on energy in the last third of my workout.

My overall goal is to get stronger and see some body composition changes along the way. I'm not concerned with losing fat--just want to see more muscle on myself.

Am I getting those fatigued feelings during my workout because I'm not eating enough? Or am I not timing my meals correctly?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
    Kelsey

Those are some fine numbers so excellent job there. Just for random curiosity, how tall are you??