starting strength gym

Thread: Dietary guidelines?

Default Dietary guidelines?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    In Starting Strength, there are some guidelines given for diet, with modifications for "older guys" and "fat guys".

I guess, I'm not quite sure where I fall on the spectrum. I'm 43 years old, male, 225lb. I wear a 42 inch jacket and 36 inch jeans (at the waist), though jeans tend to have smaller than true sizes on them so I'm probably a 38 waist. I'm 6'2. So I'm middle aged (I'm not sure if that's what is meant by "older guys", or if he was talking about 60 year olds) and I'm not skinny but not obese either (I have a belly -- is that "fat" for these purposes?)

I'm a complete novice, so I'm doing the complete novice program recommended in the book. Workout 3x/week, squats to start every workout, followed by bench or press (alternating), followed by deadlift. I'm adding 5lb to bench and press every time I do it, 10lb to squat, and 15lb to deadlift. Warmup followed by 3 work sets of 5 for every exercise except deadlift, which is warmup followed by 1 work set. I haven't added the power clean yet (I am waiting until 2 days is not sufficient recently for the deadlift)

So, what are reasonable dietary guidelines here? Should I be drinking some whole milk? I assume, less than is recommended for a 19 year old? Or should it be none at all? Also, what are reasonable protein/carb/fat levels to aim for, at least to start? At 43 I do not digest food like I did when I was 25; my appetite is a lot less and I am full for longer after meals.

Also, this is possibly a stupid question, but I absolutely hate the taste of milk. Is a Starbucks latte made with whole milk (the default is low fat but they will make it with whole milk if you ask) a reasonable source of milk? I'm going to drink the coffee anyway so this would not be increasing my caffeine intake.