starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Several Months and No Gains (And some loses)

Default Several Months and No Gains (And some loses)

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hey Community,

38/M/188lb/5'9"

I hope this is the correct forum because I'm convinced this is a nutrition and/or recovery issue. I'm at my whit's end and ready to move onto another hobby. It's been 10 months exactly since I started training again seriously and 6 since I started meeting with a SS coach who helped fix my forms and programming for my situation -- bad back with debilitating QL spasms. Therefore my back simply cannot handle the NLP as written. Training history: been in the gym since college (regrettably, bro split stuff of course) and started squatting and deadlifting about 6-7 years ago.

Here's a timeline of my weight gain and (lack of) progress -- all weights are in Pounds. Caveat: I have zero athletic/explosive ability and a single-digit vertical jump. I have a theory this is why I cannot get my lower body lifts up to save my life.

6/30/19: Started training again on my own programming

Body Weight: 165
    Deadlift: 195X5
    Bench: 150X3X5
    Press: 95X3X5
    Squat: N/A

9/2/19: Back seemed well enough to add Squats
    Body Weight: 181
    Squat: 115X3X5

11/24/19: Started working with SS coach. He put my on intermediate programming for my bench and press.
    BW: 185
    Squat: 155X3X5
    Deadlift: 200X5
    Bench: 195X4X5
    Press: 125X4X5

2/28/20: At my peak "strength". Missed a few workouts after this for a week-long trip and it all went downhill from here.
    BW 191.2
    Squat: 220X3X5
    Deadlift: 230X5
    Bench: 240X3X5; 250X4X3
    Press: 155X3X5; 165X3X3

Yesterday, 4/23/20
    BW: 188
    Squat: 155X3X5
    Deadlift: 175X5
    Bench: 220X4X5
    Press: 140X4X5